Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Holy Moly! No memorization??

Posted by on Sep. 7, 2009 at 7:24 AM
  • 5 Replies
  • 290 Total Views

Did you know that kids don't have to memorize things in school anymore?!

Some of you know that I'm a PS high school teacher (art and Spanish). I was having my Spanish students do a poem memorization project and they were acting like it was the most difficult thing in the world.

I thought that they were just whining because they were lazy, but after I started talking to them I found out that they have NEVER HAD TO MEMORIZE AND RECITE ANYTHING BEFORE! The most that they had done was study a poem and fill in missing words. They don't even know how to begin memorizing something. No wonder they are struggling. Geez.

I rattled off some texts that I had memorized in school and they looked at me like I was from another planet. They could not believe that I could recite something from my own head.

My kids are only preschool age right now, but I'm already trying to teach them to memorize some things.

Did you all go to public school? If so, did you have to memorize texts?

Starr Weems de Graffenried

Author of Brain Child and Teach Your Child Spanish Through Play. See my articles here.

by on Sep. 7, 2009 at 7:24 AM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-5):
LinaRina
by on Sep. 7, 2009 at 4:01 PM

Ugh, that's horrible - can you tell me where you teach - what country, state, etc?

Do you know whether this is typical in education now-a-days?

Considering how kids can recite lines from TV shows and sing commercials, they obviously have the capacity for it :P 

Starrwd
by Member on Sep. 7, 2009 at 5:55 PM