Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

The Beauty & Style Lounge The Beauty & Style Lounge

Ugh, red dye fading

Posted by on Feb. 3, 2014 at 11:38 PM
  • 11 Replies
Hey everyone I'm a newbie! My name is Courtney and I love beauty products. I recently used a permanent red dye on my hair. About 6 months before the dye I used peroxide to lighten it. The dye is already fading and it's only been two weeks. My question is can I put a semi permanent red color on top of the permanent color?? Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.
by on Feb. 3, 2014 at 11:38 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
TearieLeigh
by on Feb. 4, 2014 at 1:52 PM
2 moms liked this

Hello! I dye my hair bright red! So I think i can help!. 

For starters red is the most hard hair color to keep! It fades so quickly, and touches are needed twice a month! I use Lorel Hi-Color in the color RED. The dye is made for dark hair, so it lightens your hair has it dyes it red.  I use a 30 clear devloper, mixed with the dye.  Now since that will fade with every single wash, I like to use dry shampoo!

While in the shower, I keep my hair in shower cap. The dye will run and fade if you get your hair wet. After I shower and get dressed I use a spray-in dry shampoo. Then a leave-in condictioner. Works wonders to keep the hair from fadeing! 

Now when it comes to using semi permanent hair color, you can do this, but it's going to be hard to get the exact match on the red. A lot of the times, it's a bit of  a pink color.
I reccomend the brand Beyond the Zone, and Manic Panic.
Beyond the zone last longer then Manic Panic and is cheaper.

MY RED HAIR.

ae86mommy
by on Feb. 4, 2014 at 1:55 PM