Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

The Beauty & Style Lounge The Beauty & Style Lounge

Coloring hair = breakouts along hairline!

Posted by on Feb. 27, 2014 at 1:06 PM
Amy
  • 15 Replies

All along my hair line on my neck, I get these awful cystic pimples a few days to a week after I color my hair.  Does this indicate an allergy to the color?  Or is it just that my skin is really sensitive or what?

Is there anything, short of NOT coloring my hair, that I can do to keep from getting these breakouts?

by on Feb. 27, 2014 at 1:06 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
digdug
by Member on Feb. 28, 2014 at 1:29 PM
Hey! I was wondering if you or your stylist uses a cream to stop the color from staining? It could either be the cream or it could be NOT using a cream. In any case I'm a stylist and I use ion barrier cream from sally beauty.
twinners.mama
by Kayla on Feb. 28, 2014 at 10:29 PM
My mom used to get something on her scalp when she would get her hair dyed. Then her stylist opened her own salon and started using a line of organic dyes. She doesn't get it anymore.
Retrokitty
by on Feb. 28, 2014 at 10:33 PM
Vaseline along the hairline maybe?
Sbellemommy
by on Feb. 28, 2014 at 10:38 PM
What color?
lalalamama
by on Feb. 28, 2014 at 10:44 PM
I stopped colouring my hair after 25 years of thinking it was the right thing to do. Wow! I'm free, I'm real and authentic for the first time in decades!!!! I feelgreat and look great.
I wouldn't put up with the problems you're having, that's just my opinion.
purplepink1992
by on Feb. 28, 2014 at 11:06 PM

vaseline, coconut oil, or even conditioner around your hairline!

CherryAddict
by New Member on Feb. 28, 2014 at 11:42 PM