Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Question about lump after heart surgery

Posted by on Jan. 2, 2009 at 4:19 PM
  • 8 Replies
  • 6063 Total Views

This is the first time I have ever put a question on here.  I am pretty new to this sight.  I have such little time to do stuff like this.  Anyway, this has been bothering me for a while.  My son with DS, Joey, is now 1 year old (birthday was 12/3).  He had heart surgery the end of May, so he was just about 6 months old.  He had an ASD and VSD repair.  Well, I guess to get in there they break open the chest - then they glued him - it is about 4" long from just under his chin which is I guess the top of the sternum.  Right where his scar starts, there is a big lump - they told me that it should go down.  Well, it has been 6 months and it hasn't at all.  It is his bone - the top of the sternum.  Has anyone else experienced this?  It is not little, either.  My sister just came to visit and seemed to be shocked over it.  Please tell me if anyone has gone thru this and did it do the same thing?  It seems to me that it should have gone down by now - it really bothers me.   If you have gone thru this, did you do anything to try to go down - I was thinking to wrap it??  Of course I would ask the doctor first, though.

by on Jan. 2, 2009 at 4:19 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-8):
by Group Admin on Jan. 2, 2009 at 4:27 PM

It is very common. My son, Aiden (now 28 months), had his surgery at 5.5 months and also has the "heart bump" as we call it.

Basically, it is where new bone has grown around the wires holding his chest together. As he gets older, the bump should be less visible. However there are cases where another surgery has been required to shave down the over growth.

Group Admin. of Raising Children with Down Syndrome

Group Owner of The Little Light House CafeMom Group