Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

New to the Group

Posted by on Apr. 9, 2013 at 12:04 PM
  • 10 Replies
Hi my name is Sam and I'm from Jersey. I have a 15 month old with a milk allergy and I am lactose intolerant myself. My husband loves milk and I'm having a hard time finding recipes that I can use soy milk or be completely dairy free. I'm still learning to cook and would love all the help I can get. We also have nut and sesame food allergies in the house.
Posted on the NEW CafeMom Mobile
by on Apr. 9, 2013 at 12:04 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
KaylaMillar
by on Apr. 9, 2013 at 12:07 PM
1 mom liked this

welcome to the group sam! 

SweetLuci
by Luci on Apr. 9, 2013 at 12:21 PM
1 mom liked this

Welcome to the group. I just saw another post about milk allergies.

Mamalion11
by on Apr. 9, 2013 at 12:37 PM
Oh yeah?
Mamalion11
by on Apr. 9, 2013 at 2:19 PM
Aww thanks hun:)

Quoting KaylaMillar:

welcome to the group sam! 

KamsOne
by on Apr. 9, 2013 at 4:00 PM

Hi Sam!  Welcome to the group.

I'm pretty sure you can use soy milk in place of "real" milk in most recipes.  I think only in recipes where milk is one of the main ingredients (such as pudding) would there be a noticable difference.

Mamalion11
by on Apr. 9, 2013 at 4:36 PM
I have more trouble with cheese substitutes but I'm ok with the soy milk sub. I use it all of the time.

Quoting KamsOne:

Hi Sam!  Welcome to the group.

I'm pretty sure you can use soy milk in place of "real" milk in most recipes.  I think only in recipes where milk is one of the main ingredients (such as pudding) would there be a noticable difference.

AlyssaN
by on Apr. 9, 2013 at 5:37 PM
1 mom liked this
Welcome. I was lactose intolerant growing up. What about using the lactose free milk? I had the Lactaid brand growing up.