Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Recipes for Busy Moms Recipes for Busy Moms

What are some simple but cheap meals to cook?

Posted by on May. 2, 2014 at 12:15 PM
  • 6 Replies
I'm so sick of cooking baked chicken with Cannes veggies and such. I'm not an expert at cooking I just want some simple but healthy meals that my kids will enjoy. There kind of getting bored with foods. My bf is also Hispanic and I love Mexican food but I love hibachi too. Any ideas? Thanks
by on May. 2, 2014 at 12:15 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-6):
Christi8226
by on May. 7, 2014 at 10:08 AM
1 mom liked this

I would be also getting tired of chicken.  I have an idea buy a pork shoulder roast they are pretty big hopefully you can find one on sale as well and I usually wait until they are I don't like to pay anymore than $1.29 lb.  Buy one that is about 5-7lbs.  Put this in a crockpot with seasoning on it like a little salt, pepper, garlic powder, onion powder, italian seasoning is good also.  Cook this on high for 7-8 hours 2 hours before throw in some baby carrots and red potatoes.  You got yourself a meal right there.  Now for your leftover pork you can use your crockpot again and make mole in there with this recipe:

1 can (10 1/2 ounces) Campbell's® Condensed French Onion Soup
1/4 cup water
1 tablespoon chili powder
1 tablespoon brown sugar
1 teaspoon ground cumin
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1 boneless pork shoulder roast (3 1/2 to 4 1/2 pounds)
2 tablespoons semi-sweet chocolate pieces
12 flour tortillas (8-inch), warmed
6 plum tomatoes, seeded and chopped
1/4 cup chopped fresh cilantro leaves

Stir the soup, water, chili powder, brown sugar, cumin and cinnamon in a 6-quart slow cooker. Add the pork and turn to coat.