Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Teaching toddlers to be polite when it comes to gifts

Posted by on Nov. 16, 2009 at 3:01 PM
  • 9 Replies

My kids are kinda rude when it comes to getting gifts.  They will ask if there are gifts for them, and then when we are done they will ask if there are more.  I realize they are almost 4 but I think they need to start being more polite.  How do you teach your children to be more polite when it comes to recieving gifts?

by on Nov. 16, 2009 at 3:01 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-9):
JessecaLynn
by on Nov. 17, 2009 at 9:01 AM

bump 

Amyh217
by on Nov. 17, 2009 at 9:10 AM

I am not very experienced and I am still learning, but I saw noone else posted. My son is five and he does the same sort of stuff. You just have to constantly remind them when they do get gifts and maybe even give them a talk before they get any gifts. I have tried this and it seems to get better. I just try to explain it to him as best as possible that gifts are not necessary and that he should always thank anyone that gives him a gift. As well, if we go to birthday parties, since he is so little he doesn't always realize that he will not get one. So I will have to explain too that he will not get a present when it is someone elses day.

I do not know if this helps you, but I am still learning too. And I really don't think there is any one set way, but yet several different htings that can work. You just need to find out what works for you. I have always been as honest with my son as possible and have always explained things in a very detailed adult like way, and thing I would simplify it as needed for him to understand.

BlueCollarMama
by on Nov. 17, 2009 at 9:26 AM