Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Smarter Shopping: Lists That Work / Confessions of a Horrible Shopper

Posted by   + Show Post

I'm going to confess: I'm a horrible shopper. I don't really like doing it and I'm not good at it, at all. Especially not grocery shopping or even shopping for shoes or something necessary. If anything, I do enjoy shopping for gifts for others, which is always fun, or for the really rare events like a best friend's wedding, when I have a great excuse to go buy something special that I never usually buy, or wear. But no matter whether I am getting ready to embark on every-day hum-drum grocery or pharmacy shopping, or looking ahead to more exciting, and fun, holiday gift shopping, I always like to make lists.

Embarrassing confession #2: I don't usually remember to bring the list, and if I do, I lose it half way through my shopping trip, or I drop it while I'm running out the door, or my dog eats it (seriously). In the odd event none of these pathetic occurrences take place, confession #3: my list is usually so messy, with things written sideways, crossed out, in five different pens, crayons and markers, with question marks and other notes to self scribbled all around it, that I give up trying to decipher it half way through the super market or just get dizzy rushing back and forth across the isles from fruit to cereal back to fruit, to bread isle, back to veggies, then dairy - I think you see my style. I have actually tried once buying those pre-printed shopping list notepads, where you just check things off, but I found that maddening and useless for me as well, because there were a million things on there I didn't need which I kept seeing in front of me, and it took me longer to figure out what I did need, in the end.