Smarter Family: Yummy (and Healthy!) One-Pot Recipes

Posted by on Jan. 7, 2014 at 12:00 AM
  • 36 Replies
2 moms liked this

I have a New Year's Resolution that is repeated every year...okay, really, I have two resolutions that are always on the list of "Do in (Insert Year)." The first: cook more new dishes, or actually, just cook more than heating up frozen stuff. And the second: floss more.

Back to the first one...the thing about cooking. I'm not good at it. Like really not good at it. As I attempt to get better in the kitchen, I figure I should get a few recipes that are not only easy to do, but healthy for us too, blasted with veggies (the hardest food group to get into those bellies). My latest idea: find recipes that don't need a whole lot of juggling the timing of many bubbling pots and pans. Dealing with only one pot? Much tougher for me to screw up. Here are a few that fit the two requirements: the meals sneak in good-for-us veggies and only need one pot!   

Bean and Sausage Stew from RealSimple.com

What you need:

1 tablespoon olive oil

1 12-ounce package fully cooked chicken sausage links, sliced

2 cloves garlic, thinly sliced

1 19-ounce can cannellini beans, rinsed

1 14.5-ounce can low-sodium chicken broth

1 14.5-ounce can diced tomatoes

1 bunch kale leaves, torn into 2-inch pieces

1 loaf country bread (optional) 

What you do:

Heat the oil in a large saucepan over medium heat. Add the sausage and cook, stirring once, until browned, 2 to 3 minutes. Stir in the garlic and cook for 2 minutes more. Add the beans, broth, and tomatoes and their liquid and bring to a boil. Add the kale and ¼ teaspoon each salt and pepper. Simmer, stirring occasionally, until wilted, 2 to 3 minutes. Serve with the bread, if using. 

Lemon Chicken and Rice With Kale from SeriousEats.com

What you need:

2 pounds chicken drumsticks

Kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper

2 tablespoons olive oil

2 large shallots, thinly sliced (about 1 cup)

1 teaspoon cumin