• In the Spotlight:
Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

How Do You Save for Retirement?

Posted by on Sep. 28, 2010 at 10:12 AM
  • 13 Replies

I was wondering how everyone out there saves for retirement, especially the SAHM and business owners. 

I've been a teacher for 13 year but think my position is going to be cut after this year.  I applied to several other schools over the summer but I think I'm too expensive for them.  (Why would they hire someone on the 13th step when there are plenty applying on the 1st step?)  I've always thought about staying home and doing daycare out ouf my home but I'm concerned about giving up the Teacher's Retirement System.  Financially I'd be fine doing in-home daycare, but there would be a whole lot left for saving.

by on Sep. 28, 2010 at 10:12 AM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
lizmarie1975
by Liz on Sep. 28, 2010 at 10:47 AM

I work so I've got a 401K that I've been contributing into for about 14 years now (good lord). 

elwalters77
by Erica on Sep. 28, 2010 at 10:54 AM

NY State retirement plan through my job

Mom2Jack04
by Melissa on Sep. 28, 2010 at 11:29 AM

Well DH works a job and we have the carpet cleaning business.  Right now it's just the 401K BUT we plan on saving more once he is getting regular paychecks from the new job, but we are working on debts first. 

I love love LOVE, the books by David Bach, a good one to start is Smart Couples Finish Rich, and it's all about paying off all your debt and saving for the future and these are the principals we are using to eliminate our debt and save more than we spend. 

There is also a book/tape set called Transforming Debt into Wealth by John Cummuta (spelling i think is wrong there), which is based on a similiar system than David Bach's

tiredgranny521
by Silver Member on Sep. 28, 2010 at 11:43 AM