Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Military Families Military Families

how many times to they get deployed?

Posted by on May. 3, 2010 at 1:03 PM
  • 28 Replies

so im new to all of this. my husband is in boot camp as we speak and he graduates on may 21st! so excited to see him. i cant wait until the end of AIT so we can find out where we will move. his mos is Light Wheel Mechanic and they say it could be any where with that mos. but around how many times do they get deployed?

by on May. 3, 2010 at 1:03 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
cat323
by on May. 3, 2010 at 1:08 PM

there is no specific number or time frame....you go when and as many times as the military calls upon his unit........my DH was in for 23 yrs and had numerous deployments all over the place, you just never know really when they will be until they get their orders.

Cat...mom to: Steve (22) AD Army  Andy (21) Jordan (18) Kyle (16)

married to Steve (5-2-86) retired AFNG Msgt (23 yrs of service) and a deputy sheriff

Jennyfurs27
by on May. 3, 2010 at 1:10 PM

It all depends on so much... you wont have a good idea until he gets his orders... some units deploy more than others...

tangleballlover
by on May. 3, 2010 at 1:12 PM

It depends on where he goes. There are some duty stations that deploy more than others (Fort Drum, Fort Bragg, Fort Campbell). They are also trying to get the rotation changed where it's 1 year out, 2 years in. My husband has been in for 4 years in September and will be deployed for the 2nd time before that. And to make things worse...we didn't get to our first duty station til he was already in for a year. One of my friends' husband has been in 6 years and has 3 deployments and will be doing his 4th this fall. But to be honest, it really does just depend.

jessiebug27
by on May. 3, 2010 at 1:15 PM