Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Military Families Military Families

New here. Both Sons Enlisted.

Posted by on Jul. 7, 2012 at 7:46 AM
  • 5 Replies
1 mom liked this

I guess I should start with a brief introduction.  My name is Becky. I've been married to my wonderful husband for 22 years and we have two sons Dave, age 20 and Chris, age 17.  I've been a stay at home Mom since Chris was 3 years old, but I've been working 2 days a week at a local grocery store for the past 3 years just for something to do.  My husband travels a great deal for his job and is often on the road as much as 200+ days a year (he sells Fire Trucks) so it's ofen been just the boys and me.

David has enlisted in the Army (Infantry) and leaves for Fort Benning on September 4th of this year. His enlistement is for 3 years 17 months, but he's already told me he plans to try and stay in the full 20.  He wants to serve his country, see the world, and experience everything he can .... jumping out of airplanes, scaling walls,  shooting giant guns .... his theory is if he's going to do it, he's going to do it all the way.

Christopher has recently taken advantage of the Army 14 Month Future Soldier Program and enlisted to become an Apache Crew Chief.  Once he finishes his Senior year in the Spring, he will leave July 2nd for Basic at Fort Jackson South Carolina for 9 weeks, followed by 14 weeks at Fort Eustice, Virgina training on Apaches.  He's already been accepted to Embry University to study Aeronautics so after he serves 2 years as a Crew Chief, he will attend Embry for 4 years, and then serve another 2 years training to be an Apache Pilot.  His enlistment is for 8 years, but he wants to make a career in the Army and then fly for Life Flight when he retires from the Military.  What can I say? The kid has always been amazing at setting goals.