Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Military Families Military Families

Kindergarten

Posted by on Jul. 9, 2012 at 8:42 PM
  • 21 Replies

Hello Mothers,

My son is starting Kindergarten Next month. He is starting school in my home town. I'm scared that when we get stationed elsewhere my son will have a hard time adapting to new people. I just don't want this to affect his education. How do you guys deal with the moving from base to base? What do you do for your kids to let them understand that it is part of the career?

I'm still new at this military wife gig. Any advice would be helpful :)

by on Jul. 9, 2012 at 8:42 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
BompsMum
by on Jul. 9, 2012 at 8:48 PM
1 mom liked this

i havent had this situation yet (my son is only 1) so i dont have any advice, but i would love to see what others say because this is definitely something i have thought about. i am especially worried if we move to a school area that isnt the best (i know the area i am in now is known for not having a great school system) so i have already discussed with my husband the idea of private school or home schooling (god help my son if it comes to that lol)

Summerlion1123
by on Jul. 9, 2012 at 8:54 PM
1 mom liked this

I dunno, i don't know if we handled it that well. But I don't like the schools around here anyway and the teacher caused my son a lot of anxiety. Next year we are just homeschooling. Then at least if we do have to move again (which its looking like we wont for medical reasons) there won't be a whole lot of adjusting to do in that department.

nonie8707
by Member on Jul. 9, 2012 at 8:54 PM