Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Military Families Military Families

How do you do it? 1st deployment

Posted by on Aug. 8, 2012 at 8:16 AM
  • 21 Replies
Its my first time to post in this forum. Im 25, 13 weeks pregnant with my first baby. Hubby is deploying soon for a year, and I'll be going through this pregnancy and the first 6 months of the baby alone. :( he is in the national guard so we dont live near any post, and I am a grad student so have no access to other military wives to sympathize with. Just wondering how you ladies did it when your hubbies left. I am really scared and dreading his departure. My parents dont live in the US and I plan to stay in school so I will just be staying here in PA with some classmates. Although they are nice, they just dont understand. They think having their bf live in another city is the same. I am already having some anxiety issues so Im considering counseling which my school offers to its students. 12 months just seems so long. :( I know most of you will understand and I hope you can share your experiences
Posted on CafeMom Mobile
by on Aug. 8, 2012 at 8:16 AM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
jas_momof2
by アニメの雌犬 on Aug. 8, 2012 at 8:37 AM
1 mom liked this

Don't dwell on it for one.  Stay busy for another. 

gatorswife1401
by Member on Aug. 8, 2012 at 8:52 AM
1 mom liked this
My dh is a reservist so I know what you mean about being spread out andnot being on post. When dh deployed I just found things to keep me and the kids busy. I had met some of the wives during the family day and I would call or text a few of them. Best advise just try and stay busy. Facebook and skype with dh as much as you guys can
Posted on CafeMom Mobile
armyslpbaby
by on Aug. 8, 2012 at 8:55 AM