Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Basic Training Care Packages...

Posted by on Jan. 3, 2013 at 5:26 PM
  • 23 Replies
1 mom liked this

My son just enlisted...I'm new at this...I'm hoping someone out there can tell me...what can I send my son while he's in boot camp?

The website said no home baked goods, and that there's a period of time where he can't talk to us...once that's over we are welcome to send mail...

What items are most needed/appreciated? I want him to feel loved...but not thought of by his fellow soldiers as a sissie...all tips are welcome.

Thanks!

by on Jan. 3, 2013 at 5:26 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
violinjewel
by Julia on Jan. 3, 2013 at 5:33 PM
My husband in basic could only receive letters.
Posted on CafeMom Mobile
lizzielouaf
by Silver Member on Jan. 3, 2013 at 5:35 PM
1 mom liked this
Don't send anything other than letters, even the recruiters warn you about this.
Posted on the NEW CafeMom Mobile
EmmaZate
by on Jan. 3, 2013 at 5:37 PM
Certain basic units for the army allow care packages. It depends on where he is and what branch he is. And wait to send anything other than letters until after you hear from him. :)
gunsgirl
by Silver Member on Jan. 3, 2013 at 5:59 PM

I would not send anything but letters there will be time for care packages later.

sapphire80
by on Jan. 3, 2013 at 6:21 PM
2 moms liked this

My hubby is a Drill Instructor...don't send packages.  It'll draw unnecessary attention to him.  Write him tons of letters.  When my husband was in boot camp, I wrote him every day.  Letters are plenty to get him through.  Once he's graduated and at his first duty station, send all the care packages you want.  

cocoroo
by on Jan. 3, 2013 at 6:26 PM