Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Military Families Military Families

Can you collect BAH if the spouse moves to another state?

Posted by on Jan. 8, 2013 at 12:24 PM
  • 14 Replies

Can you collect BAH if the spouse moves to another state? I'm still new to the Army, so I dont know the answer to this. My SIL is moving back to her home state to care for her mother for at least a year or so. My brother is stationed at FT. Hood. They live on post as of now, but she seems to think that if they get out of their house on post they will collect BAH again. Can they still collect it if she moves out of state? I'm not sure how that would work unless my brother stays with a friend. Is he able to move back into the barracks? But then I would think they would not get BAH if he did that. I always thought that his wife and kids had to be living where he is stationed unless he is deployed.

Lilypie Kids Birthday tickers

Lilypie Pregnancy tickers
by on Jan. 8, 2013 at 12:24 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
lil_Army_Wife05
by Member on Jan. 8, 2013 at 12:34 PM
1 mom liked this

If they move out of housing, they will get BAH, BASED on where he is currently stationed. Now, if they are still legally married and she is just going home to take care of a loved one, they should still get BAH in hand, as long as they are not living on post. But, he will have to find a place to live off post, so that is something to think about. he will need the BAH to pay for his housing off post. No, he will not be able to live in the barracks. Even if he is living with a friend, they still get BAH.

wedding countdown

Mom2Rylin
by on Jan. 8, 2013 at 12:37 PM

Thank you for the info!

usmclife58
by Nikki on Jan. 8, 2013 at 12:38 PM

It will be up to his Command to determine if he can live in the barracks. Otherwise, they will have to split his BAH between the two households.