Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Military Families Military Families

I'm new to this..

Anonymous
Posted by Anonymous
  • 10 Replies

Hello ladies, My fiance has decided that he wants to join the military & I was just wondering if you could let me know what I'm in for. First off, benifits. What kind of benifits do the familes get & are the benifits the same for every branch? Which branch is more "Family friendly" if there even is one. I have a son from a previous relationship, How would that work? Any advice or Anything yall could tell me would be helpful. Thank you(:

Posted by Anonymous on Dec. 1, 2013 at 8:42 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
jas_momof2
by アニメの雌犬 on Dec. 1, 2013 at 9:11 PM
1 mom liked this

Check out some of the sticky posts at the top of this group.  There's a lot of information in there that can help.  Also, if you do a search within this group, there are several posts that talk about children from previous relationships and how the military MAY play a part in you having to stay behind.

I wouldn't say any one branch is more family friendly than another.  Life is based on the mission - not the family.

chrlstoncharmed
by Melissa on Dec. 1, 2013 at 9:28 PM
1 mom liked this
I'm not sure if any branch is family friendly. Military service doesn't really have anything to do with the family. Mission first.

You will need a solid custody agreement with the father of your child. You will also need his permission to move the child. If you already have a custody agreement, you will likely need to modify it to reflect a new visitation schedule. Ideally, this will go smoothly with the father, but if not, prepare for what course of action you want to take. Do you want to take it to court or would you rather stay behind and live separately from your husband? Both options can be financially difficult.