Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Military Families Military Families

question for military moms

Posted by on Jan. 3, 2014 at 7:54 PM
  • 14 Replies

Hi-

This is my first post after lurking for some time. My question is, are you able to have your own career while your husband is in the military?

My husband is inlisting in the Navy, we have two small children (under 5) and I am studying to become a nurse. Will this still be possible once he is active? What were your experiences? How is the boot camp/training process? 

Please share any experience you may have. 

Thanks! nurse

~Noelle 

*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~

And if it seem evil unto you to serve the Lord, choose you this day whom ye will serve; whether the gods which your fathers served that were on the other side of the flood, or the gods of the Amorites, in whose land ye dwell: but as for me and my house, we will serve the Lord. ~Joshua 21:15
by on Jan. 3, 2014 at 7:54 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
wagners7
by Member on Jan. 3, 2014 at 8:01 PM

Most definitely in your career choice.  Very portable career.  I have been a military spouse for 24 years and at times have had to start at the bottom and take jobs outside of my career, but have always been able to find work when I needed and as a blessing not had work when I needed to be home.  It's been a while so I don't recall the boot camp experience too much, but it wasn't too long.  I work in the military health care system also.  Good luck to you!.

cocoroo
by Coco on Jan. 3, 2014 at 9:17 PM

You should be fine being a nurse. I'm not sure about all the Navy specific stuff.

usmclife58
by Nikki on Jan. 3, 2014 at 9:17 PM
1 mom liked this