Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Military Families Military Families

Off To Boot Camp He Goes

Posted by on Mar. 3, 2014 at 10:58 PM
  • 36 Replies

Hi, I'm Meg. I'm sixteen (kind of young I admit) but I needed a little advice and I need it now. 

My boyfriend is almost eighteen, he's about to graduate and about to enlist in the Navy. We've both done Navy ROTC through out our high school years, Justin is an ensign and I am a Petty Officer First class. I'm the leader of my class and that means I have a very small window that I can wiggle around in and make mistakes in. 

Valentines day was five months that I've been with Justin and that was the night that I lost my innocence, and might have gotten pregnant. I never thought I'd be sixteen and pregnant but I made a stupid mistake and now I'm showing signs of early pregnancy. In this case Justin would gain legal guardianship over me (which there is lawful cause due to my household conditions and if I did turn up pregnant my parents would give me the boot) and then enlist. In the six weeks he would be at boot camp I would stay with my best friend since middle school and then when Justin came back we would get a couples room on base. I would then have a military ID and would be able to shop at our Navy Exchange and our Commisary. 

In the case that I'm not pregnant Justin will wait until after I graduate to enlist, and then after that we'd carry out life like that.