Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Military Families Military Families

Camp humphreys duty station HELP?!?

Posted by on Apr. 8, 2014 at 11:13 PM
  • 64 Replies
Hey guys I'm new to the whole army scene but I'm gradually picking up all the lingo! What I'm currently trying to solve is the issue of our first duty station as a married couple... My husband is an e1 private and he just got orders to South Korea, I'm trying to find out how to join him! We have talked and we want to go the non command sponsorship way... But what does that mean for housing allowance and stuff like that. Do I get oha? How long does it take to get it? I haven't been entered into the DEERS system or anything yet we literally just got married. What all do I need to buy myself? I have already got passport and visa I know I will need a plane ticket as well. And also will he get to live with me if I get housing right outside of base? His orders are unaccompanied
by on Apr. 8, 2014 at 11:13 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
cocoroo
by Coco on Apr. 8, 2014 at 11:37 PM

My dh went to Korea in 2002.  It was his 2nd duty station.  We did not go with him.  I had an 8 yo, 4 yo, 18 month old and I was 8 1/2 months pregnant when he left.  He was an E4 when he went.  You are going to have to apply for a visa to Live in Korea if you are not command sponsored.  Without command sponsorship, I think you can only stay for 3 months at a time.  My dh said when he was there, they had a curfew, they would have drills at all hours, and he is pretty sure your dh would not technically be allowed to live with you off post.  I do not think you would get OHA without being command sponsored.

darbyakeep45
by Darby on Apr. 9, 2014 at 4:43 AM

Welcome and good luck!

sbranom
by Member on Apr. 9, 2014 at 4:56 AM