Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Military Families Military Families

Soldier Mom

Posted by on Jul. 24, 2014 at 4:16 PM
  • 8 Replies

I am a soldier and a mom.  My husband has never been in the service so he doesn't understand anything I ever talk about.  That's okay.  I like to keep my personal life and work life apart.  I am in the National Guard but I have been on active since March.  I have been gone from my family for only two weeks and it is so hard.  My daughter is a year old and doesn't understand why i am gone.  She cries and doesn't sleep well.  It makes me so sad.  I like serving my country but sometimes I feel like I am ready to just get out.  I resigned my contract almost a year ago.  It was a silly mistake.  I really shouldn't have done it.  I go to the field for five days and won't be able to talk or FaceTime my baby girl.  I know I shouldn't be complaining but I miss mher so much.

by on Jul. 24, 2014 at 4:16 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-8):
darbyakeep45
by Darby on Jul. 24, 2014 at 4:27 PM

Welcome and hugs!  There are several members who have been where you are.  I wish you the best!

24clark
by Member on Jul. 25, 2014 at 8:02 AM

I can understand that it is difficult, that is why you are part of the 1% that have chosen to do this. Thank you. I am so sorry you miss your baby and she you. Here's to hoping the time passes quickly for ya so you can return to your loved ones! Hugs.

Mommy2Bri425
by on Jul. 26, 2014 at 1:04 AM
Why are you active right now? Are you deployed?

Meh. I'm active duty and I'm getting out. Going reserve or NG but I'm definitely not going to wake up everyday for the next XX years doing this. ✌️👋
MommaEST.99
by Member on Jul. 26, 2014 at 4:40 AM

We are between a rock and a hard place.  Our obligation to our family and our military obligation.  No one really understands .

cholita1978