Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

What are your experiences living on post?

Posted by on Nov. 11, 2017 at 5:18 PM
  • 20 Replies
We lived on post 20 years ago, in NJ. And never again after that. DH is retired and on Monday we move to housing on post. Cant beat the price and all of the amenities on post.

Did you like it, no, why?
by on Nov. 11, 2017 at 5:18 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
sweetsouthrnMom
by Member on Nov. 11, 2017 at 5:34 PM

I think your experiences depend a lot on your community, where you are, and what type of housing you are in. Personally, my family's experiences have really been one way or the other depending on a house or an area. I can't say I hate it, because I don't. I have had some great experiences. But I can't say I love it either. 

I actually didn't know retiree's could live on post, so I learned something new today :-)

Overall though, if you plan to stay a part of the community on post, use the amenities, and all that comes with it, I think living on post can be a great choice. 

Idkmyscreenname
by Member on Nov. 11, 2017 at 5:59 PM
We will be in Aberdeen, MD. The base has bowling, movies, two golf courses, its on the water, MWR has all the water toys to rent, three pools, gyms, disc golf (I am super excited about this), camping, we can rent cabins. And ao much more. Its like a resort. I hope we like it.

Quoting sweetsouthrnMom:

I think your experiences depend a lot on your community, where you are, and what type of housing you are in. Personally, my family's experiences have really been one way or the other depending on a house or an area. I can't say I hate it, because I don't. I have had some great experiences. But I can't say I love it either. 

I actually didn't know retiree's could live on post, so I learned something new today :-)