Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

My family's story

Posted by on Jun. 11, 2010 at 10:44 PM
  • 4 Replies
  • 251 Total Views

Here's the story as I know it - some first-hand and some gathered from other family members.

My mom and dad separated for a year when I was about 8 years old.  I didn't know why.  One day he sat all 6 of us kids down and told us he was leaving.  We saw him a few times after that and then Mom moved us to a different state (where my dad's sister lived).

About a year later, Dad came back and stayed.   Life went back to normal.   Whenever I asked my older sister about why dad left, she said he was going through "an identity crisis."  When I got older, I assumed he either had an affair or he was gay.  I graduated high school, moved away and got married.  Prompted by some marriage counseling, I finally asked my mom why they separated (they were still married at this time) and she told me Dad was TG.  When they had separated, Dad had gone into transition and had planned on having the reassignment surgery but when he came back and saw us living in poverty, he felt he had to put his life on hold for the sake of raising us.

So . . . for several years I knew about this while Mom and Dad were still married and they still had children living at home.  Eventually, Mom left Dad and met another man whom my brothers hated so they went to live with Dad.  Dad felt he had to continue living as a man until my brothers got out of school.  One night he got drunk and cut himself --- I think he tried to cut his penis off but he wouldn't specify what body part it was --- my brothers came home and he told them not to go in the bathroom because there was a lot of blood.  My brothers called 911 and Dad went to the hospital.