Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Parenting Positive Kids Parenting Positive Kids

March Madness in the Kitchen

Posted by   + Show Post

Kitchen Mishaps. We've all got them. Some of us more than others.

Maybe you confused the salt and the sugar. Maybe you used cornstarch instead of cornmeal. Possibly you doubled a recipe and forgot to double the flour. (I may or may not be guilty of some or all of these. I'll never tell.) I'm a pretty accomplished cook, but even I have made an error or two - and I'm super guilty of what has become a family joke. I call your attention to:

The Coffee Incidents.

Plural.

I am a fierce and devoted fan of the coffee, and I have made it my mission in life to accomplish many different styles of coffee service. French press, Vietnamese, Turkish - it's all United Nations up in my coffee cabinet. The latest hurdle to jump? How to make really, really good iced coffee, in big batches. You can't just take old coffee that's been sitting around, add some ice cubes and drink. nope. There's a STYLE to it.

I found some instructions that promised to result in the Best.Cold.Coffee.EVER, with no bitter taste or unhappy mouth feel. I mixed the recommended coffee with the exact amount of water in my largest pitcher and carefully, oh so carefully, set it into the refrigerator to brew overnight. The next day, I oh-so-carefully removed the pitcher, brimming with what could only be described as black goodness, from the refrigerator and took it over to the sink. I'd lovingly lined my pasta strainer with cheesecloth, as per the directions, and gently and carefully poured the coffee mixture into the strainer.

Forgetting to put a pitcher underneath the strainer to, you know, catch the coffee that was draining through the cheesecloth. It's not bad enough that I did this once, but I actually have committed this same coffee sin THREE times.