Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Parenting Positive Kids Parenting Positive Kids

When I was a small child, my mother came up with a great idea to help us all have more of the Christmas spirit. She bought us each miniature Christmas trees for our bedrooms. I often wonder if she had an ulterior motive, in that we were all more interested in decorating our own tree, and we left the big tree alone, but she's never answered that question for me. Regardless, we each had our own tree, and we each had our own very small box of ornaments. Every year, she would buy us an ornament to symbolize the past year. I was a pre professional ballet student, and so many of my ornaments have a ballet motif. The year that I began musical theater, she bought me an ornament to symbolize this. The year I got my drivers license my ornament was a car. She's kept this tradition all along, buying me an ornament each year. It's a tradition that I look forward to, and I've kept it going for myself.

When I moved out on my own, it was comforting to have my tree and a well established set of ornaments to decorate that reminded me of home. When we first married, we got an ornament to symbolize that. The first Christmas with our first child is symbolized by a yawning woman in a bathrobe holding a baby. This past year, I went to the Harley-Davidson school, and learned to drive a motorcycle. So this years ornament was, I'm sure you can guess, Harley-Davidson related.

In looking at my tree, I can look back and remember many many things from my life. There are coffee cup ornaments, football team ornaments, and ornaments that I bought for no other reason than that they were beautiful and spoke to me at that particular time in my life.