Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

MAMAS LATINAS MAMAS LATINAS

Money and family

Posted by on Jan. 22, 2013 at 2:26 PM
  • 13 Replies

So, I am married to a wonderful man, but he is getting upset with me bc I am paying my parents internet and cable bill.  He feels that, that money could be going to one of our kids or could be getting used or saved for something else.  The only reason why I pay my parents internet/cable bill is bc I have a 9 year old sister, 18 yr old sister (she works), and my 19 year old (bum) brother still living with my parents.  My father has always complained how he doesnt have enough money for little expenses here and there for my siblings.  So I feel that they shouldnt have to suffer of boredom and neglect that my father does provide them with.  So my question is should I still pay their bill or should I stop and have them figure it out.  I have been helping them out with money since 2004 which is when I left the house.  My husband feels that I am not helping them out by paying for their bill.  My thinking is that I need to help them out bc family regardless of what happens will always be there for you.  What do you think? Oh and we have a 7 year old, a 19 month old, and one due in February.

by on Jan. 22, 2013 at 2:26 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
Pazamia
by on Jan. 22, 2013 at 6:35 PM
2 moms liked this

You are very kind for doing that.  I think it's not your responsibility to pay for their bills since you don't live with them.  Let them figure how to pay for those luxeries themselves.  You have your own family to support.

twobells
by Orfelinda on Jan. 22, 2013 at 8:42 PM
2 moms liked this