• In the Spotlight:
Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

This just can't be happening (kinda long and and a little OT)

Posted by on Sep. 14, 2011 at 8:38 AM
  • 7 Replies

The first week of August (not too long after finding out I was pregnant), my dad was hospitalized for a week for his heart. Long story short, we found out his heart was in pretty bad shape. One of his valves was leaking, the whole left side of his heart pretty much wasn't working, he had 100% blockage in one of his arteries, he had an irregular heart rhythm, and subsuquently had developed a large blood clot in one of the heart chambers. Because of the clot surgery could not be done right away so he was realeased on very good heart medications and blood thinners and has been following up with his doctor regularly.

I am a nurse an only work 3 days a week, and my mom keeps DS for me on those days. I got to their house yesterday morning a little earlier than usual and when I opened my car day I thought I could hear something. So I walked around to get DS out the car and could hear something again. It was my mom's voice that I could hear from outside. She ran to the back door and told me to come quick. Right away I knew it probably wasn't good and just started screaming to call 911. I walked in and he was on the floor in their bathroom between the toilet and bathtub laying on his left side. I just started screaming "Daddy Daddy" and tried to flip him over so I could start cpr but the way he fell it was just hard for me to get to him. Plus I felt like the strength had been sucked right out of me. I was finally able to pull him a little to where I could flip him over and start cpr but in my heart I knew that he was already gone when I walked in. I have been a nurse for 8 years now and not once have I ever had to use my cpr training on anything else but a cpr dummy. Never in my life could I have imagined that the first time I would eve