Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Miscarriage and Pregnancy Loss Support Miscarriage and Pregnancy Loss Support

Parvovirus in pregnancy. Heard of it?

Posted by on Dec. 29, 2012 at 1:50 PM
  • 11 Replies

Hello, Hello... Just wondering how many people are aware of the dangers of parvovirus during pregnancy.  I delivered my sweet baby @ 22 weeks,  he had lost his heartbeat.    Results showed parvovirus is to blame. I had all of the symptoms but no diagnoses. Anyone familiar with this? AKA "fifth disease" or "slapped Cheek" it is a known cause for fetal loss (once you start digging for info) but apparently is not common knowledge. 

by on Dec. 29, 2012 at 1:50 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
Treasure43
by Bronze Member on Dec. 29, 2012 at 2:02 PM

I'm so sorry for your loss :(

As a teacher, I'm fairly familiar with it. However, I'm not sure how well know it is outside of teaching circles or those who work with small children. Usually by the time you start showing symptoms, you already have it and unfortunatly, there's not much to be done.

I had my doctor check me when I was first pregnant and I'm immune to it. I believe the good news is that once you've had it or been exposed to it, you're immune. However, I'd ask your doctor to test you to make sure (if he/she hasn't already).

bwoosley
by on Dec. 29, 2012 at 2:24 PM
My doctor asked me about it when I went into the hospital when I lost my daughter. I had not heard of it before he talked to me about it.
Posted on the NEW CafeMom Mobile
Angela4boys
by Angela on Dec. 29, 2012 at 4:55 PM