• In the Spotlight:
Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

It could always be worse

Posted by on Nov. 9, 2011 at 6:43 PM
  • 6 Replies

I am a newbie to the group and just felt like venting. I have been with my daughter's father off and on for 11 years and known him 16 years. I have suffered from depression for 16 years. Lately it has gotten worse due to the fact that during one of our OFF times he got another girl pregnant. As a mother, I feel for her because she thought he was going to be with her forever. The baby will be born on Saturday.  I am confused because a part of me wants him to fully be involved in the baby's life. On the other hand he was not there for me and our daughter at the beginning so why should I encourage him to do better for her child.  I am just torn up inside!!!!!

A mother has to think twice, once for her self and once for her child

by on Nov. 9, 2011 at 6:43 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-6):
Pippi747
by on Nov. 9, 2011 at 7:28 PM

This is a tough situation.  It is completely normal to be conflicted in this situation.  I know you will feel better if you encourage him to do the right thing, but again it is a tough situation.  Hugs go out to you during this time!

leahbeah143
by Leah on Nov. 9, 2011 at 8:37 PM

I can kind of relate to that. My ex boyfriend cheated on me with his ex wife, and the only reason he told me about it is because she was claiming that she thought she was pregnant. I was devastated, and we had to have the conversation of how the baby was going to be raised. I had to have the conversation within myself of how could I even think about being step mother to a child that would be a constant reminder of what he did to me. Thankfully she wasn't pregnant, and double thankfully he is out of my life lol