Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Depression Support Center Depression Support Center

what is this?

Posted by on Apr. 15, 2012 at 8:28 AM
  • 9 Replies

i am bipolar with anxiety. i feel like i have my depression under control. i have desires to get out and do things. but when it comes to getting myself ready to go somewhere it seems like a chore and i dont want to do it. i want to stay in my house and not go. i have been isolating for a couple of months now. im so sick of not taking care of myself but i just cant do it. it has been a week since i have had a shower or washed my hair. when it comes to going out of town or something like that i can do it. i went to the dr and had all my lab work done and it came back normal. am i just depressed and used to being that way. why do i get so overwhelmed. what is this?

by on Apr. 15, 2012 at 8:28 AM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-9):
matreshka
by Ruby Member on Apr. 15, 2012 at 8:33 AM

To me it sounds like depression.  Like you've been stuck in a rut for so long that isolating and not getting motivated is safer for you than getting up and out.

There are days I definitely have to force myself to do anything.  I start without thinking of all the steps, just the first, and when that's completed, the next and so on.  Its a pain but its how I get anything done on some days.

Maybe try having a schedule for yourself writing in the time you shower, eat breakfast, go online anything to build a day long schedule up until bedtime.  Many people working in the hospital and day treatment have suggested this to me and it does help.

lucy164
by Peggy on Apr. 15, 2012 at 8:43 AM
2 moms liked this