Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Depression Support Center Depression Support Center

Therapist

Posted by on Dec. 12, 2012 at 6:02 PM
  • 9 Replies

So a quick backstory is that I was a therapist until I had my mental breakdown in June.  Shortly before I had my breakdown and for months there after, I tried to find a therapist.  My first 2 were, literally, traumatic experiences and the third was BEYOND easy to manipulate and talk about nothing (or dodge the issues) if I did not feel like sharing.  I started to seeing a VA psychiatrist in October and she recommended therapy again.  I told her my history and she said that she "knew just the person for me."  I thought, "yeah right."

Fast forward to today.  I have been seeing my current therapist since mid-November and I do absolutely adore her.  Today she asked me about something that I was instantly uncomfortable talking about so I talked around the question and then tried to change the subject.  She looked at me and said, "So what I see you doing is avoiding this question and so now we are going to talk about your resistance to this subject."  I LOVE HER!  She is JUST what I needed.

The moral of this story is that if you are not 100% satisfied with your therapy, it is okay to keep looking until you find just the right one.  You need to tell them to call you on your shit (if you are an avoider like me).

Sorry this is so long I am just crazy happy that my therapy is working!!!

by on Dec. 12, 2012 at 6:02 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-9):
Lunatic6997
by on Dec. 12, 2012 at 6:50 PM

Congrats! It's so hard to find a good therapist and someone you click with :) 

ashleighmama
by Ashleigh on Dec. 12, 2012 at 6:57 PM