Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Depression Support Center Depression Support Center

Do you " toot your own horn " ?

Posted by on Jul. 13, 2014 at 2:05 PM
  • 25 Replies

Or are you like me and just hope that someone will recognize that you are a good friend or worker, wife or mom?

I recently read that narcissists make more money than other people because they think that they are the best and make sure their employers know about it.

What do you think?

by on Jul. 13, 2014 at 2:05 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
leahbeah143
by Leah on Jul. 13, 2014 at 8:39 PM

I'm not very good at "tooting my own horn" 

Tracys2
by on Jul. 13, 2014 at 9:22 PM
2 moms liked this

I'm terrible at that, but I really was a very good employee, and fortunate enough to have bosses that could see what I was doing and be impressed with it, even when I was frustrated that I wasn't doing more!

Narcissists and smug people annoy me at work. I would always find the quiet, competent person and tell the boss about how wonderful she was. It was a small company, and that was the best thing about it. My co-workers were FABULOUS and the "right" people almost alwyas got recognition <3

lucy164
by Peggy on Jul. 14, 2014 at 4:43 PM

I'm glad that your employers do notice when you do a good job.  I have no use for narcissists my mother is a toxic one.

Quoting Tracys2:

I'm terrible at that, but I really was a very good employee, and fortunate enough to have bosses that could see what I was doing and be impressed with it, even when I was frustrated that I wasn't doing more!

Narcissists and smug people annoy me at work. I would always find the quiet, competent person and tell the boss about how wonderful she was. It was a small company, and that was the best thing about it. My co-workers were FABULOUS and the "right" people almost alwyas got recognition <3

amberlavine