Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Healthy Moms Healthy Moms

Where / how did you learn to cook?

Posted by   + Show Post

Did you mother or MIL cook? Your Gma?  Do you use their recipes? Follow recipes? Do you watch shows? Take a class? Wing it?

by on Sep. 10, 2013 at 9:46 AM
Replies (31-39):
thebride
by on Oct. 17, 2013 at 1:38 AM

My mother is a chef which means she never cooked for us. She cooked at work that was it! We had to learn to cook ourselves growing up. Which made for some bad food choices later on. Today I play an active role in teaching my children to prepare meals every day, they make much healthier choices because of it. 

Allyniki
by on Oct. 17, 2013 at 4:17 PM

I learned a little growing up from my Aunt (my parents didn't do much cooking), but most of it was self taught as an adult. I find cooking creative and like to experiment with different recipes. 

This is my beautiful son Peyton. He is a healthy boy. I am raising money for those parents that are not so lucky, those who are told their child has CANCER. If you would like to join the fight, sign up for Team in Training for an experience of a lifetime at www.teamintraining.org 

adorkablemommie
by on Oct. 17, 2013 at 4:27 PM

I learned from my Grandmother, but she was not a very healthy cook so i've since learned to make healthy versions of her recipes. 

momkelly2
by New Member on Oct. 17, 2013 at 4:57 PM

I learned techniques from my mom and a few recepies.  Bu the time i was of an age to learn one Grandmother had passed and the other one didn't cook much and my mom was cooking less because she worked full time.