Advertisement
Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Healthy natural way to increase milk production

Posted by on Oct. 19, 2013 at 2:31 AM
  • 14 Replies

I'm not new to breastfeding. I have 2 boy I breastfed them both I also breastfed my cousin's baby for 3 weeks. I thought I was a pro. Turns out I wasn't ready for his. I had a preemie 2 weeks ago and she doesn't want to eat much of anything. She latches on but doesn't get enpugh. I'm not producing everything I should be because of health, stress, and blood pressure medicationa. 

What are some was to increase breast milk? I pump, stimulate, and nurse my baby girl abut every 3 hours. 

by on Oct. 19, 2013 at 2:31 AM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
LindaClement
by Gold Member on Oct. 19, 2013 at 6:24 PM
1 mom liked this

The best thing you can do is let her latch on as often as possible --it is the single most effective means of increasing supply.

She can't get 'enough' because her stomach is not only tiny (holds less than 2 tbsp) but also rigid. Pouring too much in does serious damage.

It helps a lot if you keep her one your body, skin to skin, most of the time. 

adorkablemommie
by Member on Oct. 19, 2013 at 6:44 PM

Great advice for normal circumstances! but like I said i'm an experienced breastfeeding mother I've done many of those things. I'm literally not producing enough milk. We spend time skin to skin, i've tried everything yet i'm only producing 20ml from each breast(sometimes up to 30 ml from my left) per pumping it wasn't until Tuesday that she was old enough (she is a preemie) to naturally  latch on to me. her mouth is still small so I have her with a firm latchusing a  nipple sheild. All of her feedings have been through a n-tube so far. 

I think I might try supplements any advice on that? 

Quoting LindaClement: