Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Kids' Health Kids' Health

Strep culture positive but no sore throat?

Posted by on Aug. 27, 2010 at 9:37 AM
  • 16 Replies

My son has been complaining of headaches and belly aches for a few days off and on. I took him to the pediatirician and his tonsils were swollen so they did a throat culture. The quick test came back neg but the send out test came back positive. My son says his throat is not sore at all.....now today I'm taking my 2 year old for a throat culture because they drink off of each other and play together all day.

Has anyone else had a child test positive for strep and not have a sore throat? I find this odd. Neither of my kids have ever had strep before so I'm new to this, I always thought with strep you had a really bad sore throat.

by on Aug. 27, 2010 at 9:37 AM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
texasmom1800
by on Aug. 27, 2010 at 10:03 AM

Sounds like it was caught early.  My son has done that before.

lovinmymason
by on Aug. 27, 2010 at 11:53 AM

Yes, all the time!  I run a lab in a pediatrician's office and see it all the time.  My son is one of those kiddos.  He always gets a horrendous headache and eventually his throat will get a little sore, but always a headache.  Fever, Headache, Sore Throat, Stomach pain, Rash are all signs of Strep.

A side note on the quick tests.  They are only 98% accurate.  What that means is that if the child has just a small amount of the bacteria or a ton of it, the test may not react.  Not all offices do a culture if the test is negative, so if your kiddo is still complaining a couple days later you probably want to have them retested and insist on a throat culture if it is still negative. 

Hope your kiddos feel better.  My son is home today with it and goes to an ENT next week to see about getting his tonsils taken out.

MELRN