Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Kids' Health Kids' Health

Mom's with Hearing Impaired Children

Posted by on Nov. 17, 2012 at 7:46 AM
  • 8 Replies

This is my first time posting! Glad I found this group! Let me introduce myself! My name is Lisa and I am 40, and I have a daughter who is 4.  We live in Ohio.

My Concern:  We have noticed myself, hubby, pre-k teacher, grandmother) in the last 3 months that my daughters hearing has been fading.  Examples:  Always asking for the TV/Radio to be turned up; does not hear me when I speak to her in normal tone; she talks VERY loud; when she doesn't hear me, she walks over and tilts her ear toward my mouth.

I took her to the pediatrician, he checked her ears, saw no sign of wax build up, no ear infection (she has only had 3 in her lifetime).  When they did the prescreen at Ped's, she failed it twice.  Now I know that those can be not the best tests.  The child may have not have known what to do, etc... The Doc noticed that the area around her ear drum was a little red so he prescribed Amoxicillan for 10 days, thinking she may have noninfected fluid trapped behind her ear drum.  We are going back in two weeks to have it rechecked.  He said then we may need to go to a Ped ENT. 

I am sure someone on here has dealt with this.  Yesterday we were raking leaves together and it seemed as if I was totally yelling at her just for her to hear me.  This really got me down.  I wasn't really worried about it and my thinking was "it could be worse".  But yesterday really hit me hard.  Any words of advice or experience with hearing impaired children would be greatly appreciated. 

I understand we are in the very early stages (and I know it could just be trapped fluid), but as a mom, we always think the worst and try to be prepared for it. 

by on Nov. 17, 2012 at 7:46 AM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-8):