Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Bread

Posted by on Jul. 8, 2011 at 7:12 AM
  • 6 Replies
It was asked in the other forum but I thought we could get an expert opinion on which type of bread is good, better, best! Multi-grain, whole grain, wheat, white, potatoe, etc.
Posted on CafeMom Mobile
by on Jul. 8, 2011 at 7:12 AM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-6):
Jory
by on Jul. 9, 2011 at 11:36 PM

I'm not an expert but i would say whole grain and multi grain are the best. white is a no no and regular wheat or whole wheat is okay if your on a budget. i don't eat flavored breads like the potatoe so i wouldn't know.

ElisaZied
by on Jul. 11, 2011 at 5:54 PM

Whole wheat bread that boasts at least 3 grams of fiber per slice is a very healthful, whole grain option. To tell if your favorite bread is whole grain, read the ingredients list on the package-it should list the following as the first ingredient: a whole grain (with name of grain), whole wheat, whole (with name of grain), stoneground whole (with name of grain). Make sure to choose breads with little or no added sugar--some breads can be surprising sources of the sweet stuff! (4 grams of sugar = one teaspoon). Hope this helps!

Elisa Zied, MS, RD, CDN; elisazied.com 

Hope_Warshaw
by on Jul. 12, 2011 at 3:01 PM

Elisa -

Thanks for your great response. Glad you beat me to it!

Yes, there have been myriad breads added to the supermarket shelves and it's enough to make us all a bit crazy!

A couple of additional points:
- Find a health whole wheat/whole grain bread that you and your family enjoys (remember if they're not going to eat it, you may need to slowly transition your family members to a healthier bread. One step at a time. If you are now using a 0 grams of fiber bread and you move to 1-2 grams/slice - that's progress.