Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Weight Loss, Fitness & Health Weight Loss, Fitness & Health

Newbie here...need some motivation

Posted by on Feb. 14, 2013 at 3:54 AM
  • 7 Replies
Near the end of high school I gained about 20-30lbs, and while pregnant with dd I gained 50lbs. Two weeks after I gave birth I had lost about 15lbs total. Since then (end of Jan 2012), I have maintained my weight, but desperately want to be back in my own clothes. To do that, I need to drop 4 sizes...or 55lbs. I'm having a very tough time at home, but I plug through as best I can. I know i won't get any better looking if I keep my current habits up. I sit a lot...reading, knitting, paying games on my phone, moping about how fat I've gotten and about how my family isn't supportive of anything I choose to do. I know what I need to do to change that, I just need some motivation from mamas like me to help pump me up a little. :)
Thanks
Posted on the NEW CafeMom Mobile
by on Feb. 14, 2013 at 3:54 AM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-7):
sunshinekay
by on Feb. 14, 2013 at 7:14 AM
1 mom liked this
You can do it. I know its hard to do it alone but only you can change it. Two of my fave quotes are: no one ever says oh i regret that workout and a year will pass whether you work out or not. Wouldnt you rather look back on it and see progress and growth?
mcginnisc
by Claire on Feb. 14, 2013 at 7:24 AM
1 mom liked this

First, welcome to the group! 

Second- we cannot give you motivation. It HAS to come from within you. You are the one that has to do the work. I can give you the tools, but I cannot force you to bypass the junk or to workout. 

Write down why you want to lose weight. It can be anything you think of, but make a list and keep it in places that you can see daily. This will help you stay on track. 

Claire