Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

So, is my work out WORTH it?

Posted by on Feb. 19, 2013 at 7:45 PM
  • 10 Replies

I ask because I just started working out I use an elliptical and it says on average I only burn about 120cal per workout(15min).

Whats a measly 120cal going to do? Or WILL it do something?

I'm only eating about 2,000 calories a day(and cant eat any less than that as I am breastfeeding).

I guess I'm new to all this and don't understand how it works, I thought in order to lose weight you have to burn more calories than you eat, so my question remains.

Thanks!

proprolife.gif picture by piink-lem0nade

Happily married Mama to one angelbaby, a son born 10-19-10, and a daughter born 3-20-12

by on Feb. 19, 2013 at 7:45 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
Idntreallycare
by Silver Member on Feb. 19, 2013 at 7:50 PM

well 120 calories per day for that equals 840 calories, which if that's all you do on a daily basis, you'll lose roughly 1/4 pound a week. I would say it's not a crazy effective workout, but every workout is worth it, IMO.

mem82
by Bronze Member on Feb. 19, 2013 at 8:31 PM

If you are working on building up to a longer workout, it's totally worth it.

Silvertears1275
by on Feb. 19, 2013 at 8:45 PM
1 mom liked this

Don't forget.... you burn calories just by being alive.  When they figure your BMR, that number is mostly the calories you just burn existing.  You're moving more and that is always worth it.

itsm3
by Silver Member on Feb. 19, 2013 at 9:12 PM
3 moms liked this
mcginnisc
by Claire on Feb. 20, 2013 at 8:07 AM

120 is not bad...you are doing something, so that is a great thing. 

If you give me your age, height, weight, the number of days per week you workout, and a reminder that you are BFing I can do your BMR for you and give you a range of calories to eat within to lose 1 lb per week.