Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Muscle gain but losing weight ??

Posted by on Mar. 2, 2013 at 4:48 PM
  • 11 Replies

Does anyone lift weights on a daily basis (cardio included) and have a great diet plan or know of one that really works to gain muscle mass and lose fat! Lifting weights  and losing weight is tricky ! ;)  I've gained good muscle but scale hasn't moved much. 

Thanks! 

by on Mar. 2, 2013 at 4:48 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
musicpisces
by Suzanne on Mar. 2, 2013 at 5:02 PM
1 mom liked this

I wouldn't lift daily.  Check out oxygenmag.com or sparkpeople.com for some good ideas for strength.  I get some of my workouts from Oxygen magazine.

When I started lifting, I didn't see much change on the scale, but I lost major inches and a jeans size.  I'd rather get fit than lose pounds, ya know?  =)  Don't stress over the scale- it's only ONE tool at your disposal. 

Suzanne

"Don't sacrifice what you want most for what you want right now."

armygirl16
by Bronze Member on Mar. 2, 2013 at 5:03 PM
1 mom liked this

Bump, I would like to know too.  I am trying to gain muscle mass.  I just eat a lot of protein a day and try to use the protein/carbs etc ratio that is in the "New Rules of Lifting for Women" book.  I would like to loose some weight too but the main thing is is want to look good so as long as I am happy with my body I don't care too much what the scale says. I have a bit to go though until I am happy with my body though. 

armygirl16
by Bronze Member on Mar. 2, 2013 at 5:05 PM

Oh yeah and I only lift 2-3 times a week.  That is plenty.  I am also doing insanity not too but once I'm done with insanity I will probably just work on lifting 3 times a week only. 

Quoting musicpisces: