Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Weight Loss, Fitness & Health Weight Loss, Fitness & Health

Not eating enough calories??

Posted by on Mar. 22, 2013 at 11:58 AM
  • 11 Replies

I am probably being prematurely concerned, but here goes.

I started training with my sister at the end of January. Since 2/4 I lost 8.8 pounds, brining me down to 161.4. Now my weight for the past several days has been slowly creeping back up, and I'm back up to 162.8 today. Argh!!

I weigh myself daily, because as we all know, weight can fluctuate, so I check my number in the mornings to just make sure that things are accurate on actual weigh-in days. If I see the same number twice in a row, THEN I record it.

But this is getting to be frustrating, and I'm wondering if maybe I'm not eating enough calories. MFP has me on 1200 cals a day, and I was told that as long as I don't go under that, my body won't hit starvation mode.

I work out between 1.5-2 hours a day. MWF I do zumba, then I train for 45 minutes with her with weights. Then Tues/Thurs/Sat I do a zumba class and run on the treadmill before or after.

I have been eating lower carb/lower fat diet, with a lot of protein (30-45% carbs, 19-30% fat, 35-40% protein).

My stomach doesn't seem to be going down much, although some people have mentioned I look smaller. I'm just getting frustrated here!! I was doing so well and was so encouraged, now this! grrrr....

by on Mar. 22, 2013 at 11:58 AM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
HezekiahsMom07
by on Mar. 22, 2013 at 12:08 PM

Forgot to mention, per my body bugg, I usually burn between 2800-3500 calories a day.

rileysmommy229
by on Mar. 22, 2013 at 12:26 PM

NO you aren't eating enough! Have someone here do your BMR for you :-)

eema.gray
by on Mar. 22, 2013 at 12:52 PM
2 moms liked this