Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Weight Loss, Fitness & Health Weight Loss, Fitness & Health

white foods

Posted by on Mar. 22, 2013 at 1:21 PM
  • 9 Replies
What does it mean to cut back on white food sorry if I sound crazy but I'm new to all of this
Posted on the NEW CafeMom Mobile
by on Mar. 22, 2013 at 1:21 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-9):
eema.gray
by on Mar. 22, 2013 at 1:41 PM
1 mom liked this

Generally, foods that are white - white bread/pastry, white potatoes, rice, pasta - are very starchy and not very nutrient dense.  In other words, lots of calories but not very much nutrition.  They are also generally very easy to digest, which means that they turn into glucose quickly, and if you're not active enough to use all the glucose quickly, they get stored as body fat.

Cauliflower is white, but it is NOT one of the white foods to avoid.  There are many varieties of rice that are not white and taste very nice - I particularly like a southeast asian variety called "country red" - it is a glorious rich red color and has wonderful flavor and texture.  Purple yams (asian markets carry them) and sweet potatoes have more nutrition in them than white russet potatoes but if you want a white potato, buy a waxy one like a red or a fingerling, less starchy and therefore someone more dense in terms of nutrition.

musicpisces
by Suzanne on Mar. 23, 2013 at 12:16 AM

This! (we so often think alike, eema.gray!)  I just wanted to add a few other healthy white foods:

Onions

Cerery root

Mushrooms

White beans

White potatoes (don't eat them every day, but occasionally is all good- the skin is loaded with potassium!)

Dairy- milk, yogurt, eggs

Garlic

Shallots

White fish- halibut, tilapia, etc.

"White foods" are generally things like refined grains and sugars, at least in this context.

Quoting eema.gray: