Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Thinking about a career change

Posted by on Apr. 29, 2013 at 2:10 PM
  • 8 Replies
1 mom liked this

I'm seriously considering going back to school to get some sort of career in the health and fitness industry.  I work as a medical biller and coder now and the body has always fascinated me and when I started getting into reading about nutrition for myself, I just kind of geeked out.  I had considered a nutrition degree, but that's pretty useless without becoming a Registered Dietician, which is next to impossible to do online and with my schedule.

So now I'm looking more at Health and Wellness Education or something along those lines. 

Any suggestions or tips to help me find my way here?  LOL

by on Apr. 29, 2013 at 2:10 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-8):
musicpisces
by Suzanne on Apr. 29, 2013 at 2:33 PM

Short of getting an RD, there isn't much that's recognized in the field that you could actually do for full time work.  You could become a personal trainer, which of course includes nutrition, but that's more fitness-centered.  I'm trying to figure out what kind of nutrition certification I can do once I get my BS/MS so I don't have to do a whole other BS in nutrition.  I want to get something on top of my MSN/CNM so I can better help my patients in that area, especially regarding pregnancy/postpartum nutrition and nutrition related to disease processes.  But I think DH will leave me if I decide to go back to school... AGAIN.  LOL

Suzanne

"Don't sacrifice what you want most for what you want right now."

fallenangel_353
by on Apr. 29, 2013 at 2:36 PM
You can become a fitness trainer rather easily. A C E is a place you can look to start :)
I'm actually considering doing this. Dont laugh, but I want to run my own early morning boot camp...
mandaboo99
by Bronze Member on Apr. 29, 2013 at 2:45 PM