Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Beginner running plan and clean eating journey tips

Posted by on May. 24, 2013 at 11:34 PM
  • 3 Replies

Hi ladies, 

I'm loving this group so far, and really appreciate all the great advice!! 

So here are my questions today... (and yes I know there will be more.)

1.) I signed up for my hometown's 4 mile fun run over 4th of July weekend.  I am just starting out running (the couch to 5k program). Tomorrow is week 1 day 2.  Is this a little over-ambitious of me?  Will I be pushing myself too hard?  Is there a way I can tweak the program to get to 4 miles instead of 3?  

2.)  For my eating goals, this is where we are now: I'm extremely consistent at staying at my calorie goal (1800).  I drink TONS of water every day. (I have a 32 oz mug that I fill 4+times at work).  I avoid all artificial sugar, and I'm getting a lot better at avoiding processed foods. (I will occasionally have some tortilla chips with guac, pita chips with hummus, or pretzel chips).  I try to chose veggies instead, but sometimes I give in.

My ultimate goals are to have an 80% clean diet (with the occasional splurges and treats).  I would like to set a goal for myself for the month of June to elimiate one unhealthy component from my diet.  I'm just trying to decide if htat component should be added sugar or wheat.  Does this sound like a reasonable first step?  Any better goals you can suggest for the month of June?  (My hope is that these gradual changes will all add up into permanent lifestyle change.

Thanks again for your insight!

NK 

by on May. 24, 2013 at 11:34 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-3):
mcginnisc
by Claire on May. 25, 2013 at 8:10 AM
1 mom liked this

Your diet goals are fine.