Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

questions about treadmill usage

Posted by on May. 29, 2013 at 3:24 PM
  • 4 Replies

i have been using the treadmill at the gym for 2 months now. my fastest pace has been 3.0. I usually like to keep it at 2.5 so i do not get warn out. when can i start using the different levels and how long do i use each one for as far as days or weeks go. by levels i mean elevation. it would be very helpful if someone who is good at knowing this could give me all the information necessary. keep in mind, i choose to keep my level at 2.5.

by on May. 29, 2013 at 3:24 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-4):
robsgurl_23
by Member on May. 29, 2013 at 3:27 PM

you can start when you feel ready. When I use the treadmill I put the speed between 3.0 up to 4.5 and I let the machine change up the incline. I put it on the setting to do that.

Idntreallycare
by on May. 29, 2013 at 3:28 PM

I think Pinterest has some good treadmill interval workouts. It will have you going faster than 3.0 though. As for elevation, I say mess around with it, maybe do a minute at one height and then raise/lower it for another minute, stuff like that. I never really had a set plan for intervals.... mine usually was like "start running at 5.0 (speed) and then slow it down to 4.0 when I got tired, keep it there for roughly a minute, and speed back up until I needed a break"

Silvertears1275
by on May. 29, 2013 at 6:41 PM

I don't think there's any "right" way to do it.  You could always increase it, then once that feels "easy" to you (in a week or two... however long that is for you, personally), bump it up.  Same with speed. 

Or you could do intervals, where you increase it for say 5 minutes, then go back down to recover for 5 minutes, and go back and forth like that.

musicpisces
by Suzanne on May. 29, 2013 at 6:51 PM