Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Weight Loss, Fitness & Health Weight Loss, Fitness & Health

Please help me!! 100+lbs to lose

Posted by on Jul. 8, 2013 at 9:35 AM
  • 29 Replies

I'm getting so discouraged. I QUICKLY gained 110 pounds in one year. I've had every test (thyroid, adrenal, bloodwork, etc.) and the doctors cannot figure it out. I suspect it's related to one of the many medications I'm on, but none of them 'should' cause weight gain. The only thing we can come up with is my lack of activity due to a hip injury (though I started gaining before I hurt my hip).

I had my hip repaired in February and was released by my physical therapist a couple weeks ago. I've been tracking my calories for a couple months and am averaging 1200-1500 calories a day. I've been going to the gym for 2 weeks (M-F, 25-30 minutes on the bike). My weight bounces up and down between 273 and 276. I can't figure out why I'm not losing. I tried Weight Watchers in Feb/Mar and didn't lose a pound. Now I'm using the LoseIt app to track calories. I'm 5'7".

Here's my typical day:

Every Sunday, we cook 3 casseroles/meals and portion them out into ~400-calorie servings. Some are as low as 300 and some as high as 500. Like this week, we have buffalo chicken lasagna, mexican rotel chicken casserole and chicken & rice. Usually we have a beef recipe, but this week just happened to be all chicken. So every day, I get a pre-portioned lunch and dinner. Breakfast is 2 eggs (increasing to 3 with cheese this week to add calories). I drink coffee with creamer (70 calories). The rest of my liquid intake is water, about 150oz/day (I have a 32oz bottle that I fill 4-5 times). Snacks throughout the day are: baby carrots and hummus (75 calories), 2 mini peppermint patties (100 calories), 1oz of turkey jerky (80 calories), and 2 pieces of cheese (180 calories). Sometimes I'll have 1/3c of frozen yogurt (120 cals) after dinner.