Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Weight Loss, Fitness & Health Weight Loss, Fitness & Health

New here and need motivation

Posted by on Dec. 27, 2013 at 10:30 AM
  • 7 Replies

Hi All,

I need/want to lose about 10-20 pounds.  I'm 5'11 and have not weighed myself in months.  My guess is that I'm around 155.  I do realize that is within the 'normal' range of what I should weigh, but I feel so frumpy.  My weight is not distributed well, and I have a lot of extra belly hanging around (like a muffin top). None of my work pants fit, and I just feel bad about myself all the time.  I'm a single mom to a 7 year old, so going to the gym is out.  I have an elliptical at home, and just purchased a Jillian Michaels video.  I just can't find the motivation.  Any tips to get started?  Any healthy meal planning ideas?  I can tell you that my major issue is wine.  My short-term goal is to decrease my intake of wine and increase my water intake.  When I have wine, I get munchy...and it's usually late at night.  My long-term goal is to have a normal workout schedule, and to firm up my core.  I've read a lot of your stories, and you are all very inspiring!

by on Dec. 27, 2013 at 10:30 AM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-7):
musicpisces
by Suzanne on Dec. 27, 2013 at 12:27 PM

Welcome!

Motivation's a tough one.  It really has to come from within.  What motivates each of us varies, and it changes over time.  I always suggest writing out WHY YOU want to lose the weight and get fit.

Which Jillian video did you get?  Many of us have used her stuff.  I'm a big fan of her videos!

For meal planning, I generally do 1-2 weeks at a time, and I've even written out a few weeks' worth, and rotated between them.

I get a lot of ideas from Clean Eating magazine.  They have some stuff on their website (cleaneatingmag.com) for meal planning, recipes, etc.