Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Home Life Home Life

After a new baby, more of a housewife now, used to working, how do other housewives make it work on one salary now?

Posted by   + Show Post

Hi,

I'm new to cafe mom, and wanted some advice on how stay at home moms make it work for their husbands so that they don't mind being the only one with an income.  I used to work alot sometimes three jobs at a time, now i am home with a 3 month old. I try to save on groceries, my husband acts like $160 a week in food is too much, its about average.  been starting up teaching infant classes but like anything else, it takes time.

by on Apr. 28, 2012 at 2:43 PM
Replies (21-24):
jennymommyme
by on May. 1, 2012 at 3:35 PM
And I do have two places in the back yard for growing stuff this summer get some sun too lol
Posted on CafeMom Mobile
QuiltLover
by Jocelynn on May. 4, 2012 at 3:23 PM

You can also make all of your cookies, cakes,etc and save there, too. I see somene mentioned making your own bread...I used to do all of my weeks baking on Mondays when the kids were little. I would bake a chicken, save the broth and then a couple days later we would have homemade chicken and noodles with mashed potatoes and green beans with homemade bread. With leftover  veggies, no matter how small the amount i would save them in the feezer adding all month long until I had enough to make a pot of vegetable soup We just couldnt afford to throw anything away...and menus are a huge help...keeps you from going crazy in the store buying stuff you don't need.  my kids didn't know the store sold cookies until they went to school...true...

Angeldolphine
by on May. 4, 2012 at 3:35 PM