Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

Manners, anyone?!

Posted by on May. 3, 2012 at 6:10 PM
  • 24 Replies

A grandmother and I were talking about this a little while ago.

She says strangers seem shocked when her granddaughter uses manners in public. IE-please, thank-you, excuse me, etc. b/c the little girl is so young. (3 or 4).

My question--

Do you/did you teach your children manners (yes ma'am, yes sir, etc.) & at what age did you do so if you did.

If you don't/didn't--Why not?

by on May. 3, 2012 at 6:10 PM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
SassyWildflower
by on May. 3, 2012 at 6:13 PM
1 mom liked this

My kids are 4(5 in a couple weeks) and 3. I have been teaching them since maybe 18 months-1yr. While my youngest doesn't really speak, I still teach her. 

When my oldest answers someone, I always ask her to say yes/no ma'am/sir. They are expected to say please and thank you & be respectful. I think it's really important for kids to have manners that hopefully, they'll carry with them as they get older. 

HisSweetheart07
by Platinum Member on May. 3, 2012 at 6:23 PM
1 mom liked this

Yes. My kids say "please, thank you, and sorry"

We started as soon as they started talking lol

Its something very big in our house for manners - also for holding doors, letting women go infront of the men, offering help, etc.

inmybizz
by Ruby Member on May. 3, 2012 at 6:29 PM
1 mom liked this

I think manners are very important..People tell me all the time how polite my daughter is.Makes me proud to know she is practicing some of the thing we teach and expect at home out in public away from our view..

sunshinepraying
by Silver Member on May. 3, 2012 at 7:24 PM
1 mom liked this
We have a 4 1/2 yr old son and a daughter who just turned one. We make sure to teach them manners a soon as we can, usually around one.
Posted on CafeMom Mobile
mitchiesgirl