Join the Meeting Place for Moms!
Talk to other moms, share advice, and have fun!

(minimum 6 characters)

The Park Bench The Park Bench

Job Dilemna

Posted by on Jun. 16, 2013 at 8:44 AM
  • 10 Replies

About 3 years ago the company I had worked for for 23 years closed.  I lost my job but was able to find another right away about an hour from home.  I am a lab technician.  I have done well at my new job since I am an experienced tech and this company tends to hire younger less experienced "lab aides" to be trained and schooled in house for less pay. What I don't like about this job is the 2 hours a day I spend on the road commuting.  My old job was only 5 mins away from home.

I have currently been offered a job that will take me traveling all over the USA.  My husband is retired and would be able to travel with me.  My son (24) is in college, lives at home, and is willing to take care of the house-hold responsibilities.  My husband would travel with me to each assignment (8 - 13 weeks), stay for a couple or three weeks, then fly home and check on the house for a couple weeks then fly back to me.  Exciting huh?

Then the company I work for  offered me a part-time position when they found out I was leaving and why.  I also have another part-time position in my home town, so I could make it work financially if I stayed at my current job part time.  

I would love to travel, but I also worry about leaving home for long periods of time.  My husband is worried my son won't be able to keep up the house / yard / pet care (2 dogs, 3 cats), and school.    I want to give him a chance to try.  I would be giving up singing in the church choir and being with my 2 dogs. 

If I'm on assignment during holidays, I wouldn't be able to come home.

What other pro's and con's can you think of if you were to travel full time?

by on Jun. 16, 2013 at 8:44 AM
Add your quick reply below:
You must be a member to reply to this post.
Replies (1-10):
WillTimsmom